Innovation Radar Prize

Using intelligence gathered with the Innovation Radar method, the European Commission has, since 2015, been awarding the annual Innovation Radar Prize to the best EU-funded innovators.

The 2021 Innovation Radar Prize has been awarded
Overall 'Grand Prix' winner
MetGen from Finland was the overall ‘Grand Prix’ winner of the 2021 Innovation Radar Prize for their game-changing bio-based solution to replace petrochemical wax-based solutions currently used in cardboard packaging boxes.
Category winner
'Disruptive Tech'
Winner of the ‘Disruptive Tech innovation’ category was Kypo from Czechia for their open source cybersecurity training platform that addresses Europe’s cybersecurity skills gap.
Category winner
'Sustainability Tech'
The winner for ‘Innovative Sustainability Tech’ was C2CA Technology from the Netherlands (a spinoff of TECHNISCHE UNIVERSITEIT DELFT) who have developed a system for recycling construction material and so reduce greenhouse gas emissions.
Category winner
'Health Tech'
The winner for ‘Innovative Health Tech’ category was React4Life from Italy for their organ-on-chip solution that accelerates development of new drugs.
Previous Innovation Radar Prize winners
2020 Overall winner
In 2020, the overall winner was Politechnika Wroclawska from Poland.
2019 Overall winner
In 2019, the overall winner was SUPSI from Switzerland for their lead role in developing robotic tech capable of executing repair tasks in harsh industrial environments. They also won the prize for Women-led innovations, which recognises dynamic women developing and leading great innovations with EU-funding. This project is led by Anna Valente, the head of the Automation, Robotics and Machines Laboratory at SUPSI-DTI. Learn more about SUPSI’s innovation in this euronews feature.
2018 Overall winner
In 2018, the overall winner was Gr3n , a swiss company who invented a new process which allows for the first time to recycle PET bottles/food containers chemically in a profitable way. The objective is now to build the first pilot plant of the full de-polymerization process, designing and building a new reactor prototype but also embedding it within an optimized purification process. This will be the final step to then finalize the industrialization and bring to the market this revolutionary re-cycling solution.Learn more about Gr3n in this euronews feature.
2017 Overall winner
In 2017, the overall winner was CATEC , a Spanish Aviation research centre, for industrial drones they developed with EU funding. Their drones can not only allow "see" from the air, but also "touch and feel". The CATEC drones – which integrate a robotic arm, advanced software and state-of-the-art sensors - open up new possibilities for performing industrial inspections that require contact. Learn more about CATEC in this euronews feature.
2016 Overall winner
In 2016 the overall Innovation Radar prize was awarded to Intrinsic-ID , a Dutch SME, which developed a unique technology and has become a world leader in security systems. Their technology - authentication technology based on the electronic fingerprint of devices - was developed within the EU-funded project PUFFIN . Intrinsic ID are today selling this technology to customers around the world. Learn more about Intrinsic ID in this euronews feature.
2015 Overall winner
In 2015 the first ever Innovation Radar Prize was awarded to BroadBit , during the ICT 2015 event in Lisbon . Since then, BroadBit, an SME originally from Slovakia but now based in Finland, have raised additional finance to fund expansion and production of their innovative battery technology. Learn more about BroadBit in this euronews feature.
Innovation Radar Prize 2015 – 2020: The Jury
For the past 6 years, the finalists of the Innovation Radar Prize have pitched their innovations and their plans to get them 'out of the lab and into the market' to a jury composed of a panel of investors and entrepreneurs.
The excellent members of the jury who have supported us on the journey are professionals with a track record in entrepreneurship, investment (e.g. Business Angels, or VCs) or experience in start-up accelerator communities. Former jury members for the Innovation Radar Prize include: